Government Sets Up Temporary Disaster Relief Committee

Tuesday, 27th March 2007

Monrovia, Liberia - The Government of Liberia has constituted a temporary Disaster relief Committee to visit several areas affected by recent natural and other disasters.

The Committee is headed by the Ministry of Internal Affiars. Other members of the Committee include the Ministries of Finance, Planning & Economic Affairs, Education, Health & Social Welfare, Information and the General Services Agency.

At an Emergency Cabinet meeting on Tuesday at the Foreign Ministry, it was decided that the Cabinet Disaster Relief Committee visits the affected areas including Nimba, Cape Mount and Margibi Counties.

The Committee, according to a Joint Information Ministry/Executive Mansion Press Release will visit the affected areas to assess the level of damage in the areas.

The Vice President, Dr. Joseph Boaikai, who chaired the Emergency Cabinet meeeting, will on Thursday head the Cabinet Diasaster Relief Committee to the affected areas.

The Cabinet, has meanwhile, expressed regrets to victims of the disasters and assured them of governmentís support in alleviating their plight.

It can be recalled that fire recently gutted several homes in Venla Village in Kakata, Margibi County, leaving several residents displaced and thousand of dollars worth of property destroyed, while 13 homes were destroyed by fire in Tewor District, Grand Cape Mount County, leaving over a hundred and twenty-five persons homeless.

In Ganta, Nimba County, a severe tropical storm last Wednesday damaged over two hundred homes including public institutions, leaving over seven persons wounded.