National Aids Commission Constituted--President Sirleaf Chairs

Friday, 29th June 2007
Monrovia, Liberia - President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has appointed the Civil Service Board of Appeal and constituted the National Aids Commission.

Those appointed on the Civil Service Board of Appeal include; the Minister of Internal Affairs, member; the Minister of Youth and Sports, member; Mrs. Ida Burphy Ajavon, member; Counselor Carlos B. Z. Smith, member; Attorney Mrs. Winleta Henries Reeves, member; the Dircetor General of the Civil Service Agency, member and Mr. Timothy Wulah, member.

The members of National Aids Commission include the President, who serves as Chairperson; the Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Vice Chaiperson; the Minister of Education, member; the Minister of Youth and Sports, member and the Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism.
Others members include the Head of the Liberia Chamber of Commerce; the Head of the Bankers Association; the Head of the Liberia Business Association, and the Head of the Liberia Rubber Planters Association.

Other members of the National Aids Commission are the Heads of other organizations including the Liberia Federation of Labor Unions, the Liberia Teachers Union; the Liberia Muslim Council, the Liberia Medical and Dental Association, the Liberia Nurses Association, the Liberia Bar Association, the Federation of Liberia Youths, the Liberia Marketing Association; the Liberia Pharmaceutical Association; a female and male representative of People Living With AIDS.

Other members include; the Country Representative of WHO; the Country Representative of UNICEF; the Country Representative of UNFPA, and NGOs providing health care services.