President Sirleaf Names Diverse Groups to Multi-stakeholder Steering Group of LEITI; Appoints Members of the Board of Trustees of the Bong County Technical College

Friday, 3rd October 2014

Monrovia, Liberia - In accordance with Section 1.3(f) (ii) of the EITI Standards, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has appointed a broad spectrum of diverse groups to the Multi-stakeholder Steering Group (MSG) of the Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (LEITI).

According to an Executive Mansion release, those appointed include:

Statutory Members (Government of Liberia)

The Minister of Lands, Mines & Energy (chairman)

The Ministry of Finance and Development Planning

The Minister of Agriculture

The Minister of Internal Affairs

The Managing Director, Forestry Development Authority

The President/CEO, National Oil Company of Liberia

The Commissioner General – Liberia Revenue Authority

Member of the House of Senate (to be named)

Member of the House of Representatives (to be named)


Civil Society

National Labor Congress – Mr. Ezekiel Johnson

WONGOSOL - Ms. Marpue M. Speare

Right and Rice Foundation – Mr. James Yarsiah

Mrs. Cecelia T. Danuweli – Publish What You Pay Coalition



Non-Statutory Members (CSO)

Private Sector


Mr. Atul Mittal, Western Cluster

Mr. Debar Allen, Aureus Gold

Gold &Diamond Brokers & Dealers Association (to be named by the Association)



Mr. Keith Conrad – ExxonMobil



Liberia Timber Association (to be named by the Association)



Mr. Henri Harmon, Golden Veroleum




Chief Zanzan Karwor


The following institutions will continue to serve as Observers

United Nations Mission in Liberia

United Nations Development Program

National Civil Society council

German Development Cooperation

United States Embassy

The World Bank

African Development Bank

International Monetary Fund


In another development, President Sirleaf has appointed the following persons as Members of the Board of Trustees of the Bong County Technical College:


Dr. Walter T. Wiles                  -           Chairman

Bishop Arthur F. Kulah          

Prof. Dr. Roland C. Massaquoi

Hon. Andrew Tehmeh

Mrs. Vila Y. Cooper, Superintendent, Bong County Marketing Association

Senator Jewel Howard Taylor

Honorable George S. Mulbah, Sr

Prof. Dr. John S. Flomo, Jr.,

China Union


Director General of Higher Education, Ex-Officio

Minister of Education, Ex-Officio